Venus Guy Trap #36- October Featured Skater

Venus Guy Trap #36 – October Featured Skater
DJRD October Featured Skater
October’s featured skater is a newer addition to the team, and this month marks her first time on the DJRD roster!
We are so happy to have Venus Guy Trap joining us on the track!

What made you start derby?
I started figure skating when I was 5 years old, and excelled in the area of figure skating known as Synchronized Skating.  I was lucky enough to skate for some of America’s top teams, and attended the University of Delaware primarily to skate for their collegiate level team.  After 18 amazing years, I hung up my competitive skates when I graduated college.  Over the years the lbs started to creep on so around the age of 30 I knew I needed to start paying attention to my health, and started researching nutrition and different workout plans.  I joined a gym and lost about 50lbs, but started to get bored.  Given my skating background I googled roller derby on a whim and decided to give it a try.  Derby is a great choice for me because I still get to feel like I am flying when I skate and I get to be part of a team again.
What was the hardest part of passing your minimum skills test?
Plow Stops…and they are still hard for me!
What was your first bout like?
My first official bout was an away game in Maryland at a tournament.  No pressure right?  I remember my legs being absolute jello for the first 15 minutes or so.  In figure skating your program is only 4 minutes long, so I’m used to going out onto the rink and getting my job done and going on with my day.  But that first bout taught me I would need to learn how to stay calm for a long period of time, and how to develop “jamnesia”.  We didn’t win that bout, but I had such a great time with my team and was so proud of playing my first official bout, the score really didn’t matter.
How long have you been playing derby?
A little over 2 years
What is your favorite part of derby?
My favorite part about derby is there is a place for EVERYONE.  Whether you want to skate, want to NSO, want to ref, want to coach, there is a home for you.  It is one of the few places I have found where everyone is accepted no matter who they are inside.
What is your least favorite part? 
Skating in the heat and sweaty pads
What is your derby goal for the next year? 
To be able to recycle out of the pack and knock the jammer off the track just when she thinks shes gotten through.
What do you do for a living?  
My primary occupation is education, I have me certification to teach fashion design and theater and also have a certification to be an instructional supervisor (I specialize in supervising district wide arts programs) as well as a principal certification.  I have also been sewing since I was 8 years old and work as a freelance costume designer for regional theaters across the state, as well as running a part time alterations business from home.
How old are you? 

What are your interests outside of derby?  

Outside of derby I am a very “artsy craftsy” type of person.  I love all things DIY and recently started a youtube channel with sewing and other craft demonstrations.  I also enjoy researching trends in nutrition and exercise physiology, and have recently been bitten by the travel bug.  The world is full of so many amazing people and cultures and I want to learn about all of it!
DJRD Featured Skater