Duchess Down Lo #411 – November Featured Skater

Move over Meghan Markle, there’s a new duchess in town.
Our November featured skater may be a class act on and off the track, but watch out: There’s nothing ladylike about her hits!


What made you start derby?

After each seeing an ad in the local paper about an upcoming bout, my husband and I coincidentally emailed each other about going. Watching the game, I knew immediately it was something I needed to try! I’d never had the opportunity to play a team sport before, I loved the full contact aspect, and always liked skating.


What was the hardest part of passing your minimum skills test?

Testing was definitely nerve wracking! 25 laps in 5 minutes seemed so unattainable at first. It was a challenge to achieve, and how cool is it that minimum laps have increased? Makes everyone push harder!


What was your first bout like?

I remember my legs shaking at the first jam start! But it all worked out ok.


How long have you played derby?

First fresh meat program was about 8 years ago. Some long breaks in between and joined DJRD about three years ago. So happy to get back on skates with such an exceptional group of women.


What is your favorite part of derby?

I feel much gratitude for the good people I have met through derby. The friendships extend beyond the track and have enhanced my life in lots of ways. On the track, I love how derby can be an escape from “normal” life. It’s easy to forget whatever worries, stress, aches and pains. It’s rare not to have a good laugh at practice, and at the same time have a killer workout and continue to challenge myself.


What is your least favorite part?

Stinky pads. Not very “duchess-y.”


What is your derby goal for next year?

I’ll be 59 next month so my goal is to play a WFTDA game at 60 (in addition to stronger plows and hockey stops)


What are your interests outside of derby?

My husband Scott and I have a lot of hobbies and like to cheer each other on. He will ref and help out at derby occasionally and I’m his biggest musical fan. Love to spend time with our adult daughters, especially traveling and skiing. But you can often find me curled up at home with some knitting, a creative project, or the Sunday crossword and my pets!